Town of Wellfleet Parking Task Force II

April 7, 2020

To the Members of the Town of Wellfleet SelectBoard (Submitted by e-mail)

Dear SelectBoard Members,

RE: The Parking Task Force II

On behalf of the members of the Parking Task Force II (PTF), I thank you for receiving our Final Report to you on Feb 28th. Since that time and due to circumstances, we did not reconvene our PTF until April 1st and that was via Zoom conferencing. Only six of our nine members were able to join the meeting, but that was more than the normal quorum requirements. Most of the meeting content was cleaning up details since the Final Report.

We discussed the storage of key documents on the Town website, and with the general guidance of the meeting, Wayne Clough and I are prepared to work with the Town Administrator's office to organize the documents to be preserved when the office is open and we can get with staff.

The final agenda item was to discuss the future of the PTF. By unanimous consent of those present, we agreed that the PTF should be disbanded and that the recommended actions of our report should be carried out by the Town Administration, with appropriate oversight by the SelectBoard. On an individual basis, some of the members expressed a willingness to provide assistance to the departments, if it is deemed beneficial.

This process took longer than some of our members were anticipating, but we wanted to do a thorough job of our investigations. As we went through the process, we received significant help from, and gained good respect for how, the departments were handling their responsibilities. As recommended, we feel the administration of parking issues properly belongs with the responsible departments. There is one key point we suggest which is that whenever considering new or expanded activities, proponents and the Town should "Think Parking!".

Thank you for your support and participation as we went through this assignment, especially for Janet Reinhart's liaison role (and special thanks also go to Ms. Suzanne Thomas and Chief Mike Hurley). We feel this is an appropriate time to disband and suggest that you take the appropriate action to disband this task force.

Sincerely,

Dennis O'Connell, Chair

Members of the PTF were: Joseph Aberdale, Wayne Clough, Dale Donovan, Bruce Katcher, Sheila Lyons, Daniel Murray, Dennis O'Connell, Virginia Parker, and Wilson Sullivan

cc: Mr. Dan Hoort, Town Administrator,
Ms. Suzanne Grout Thomas, Beach Administrator
Police Chief Michael Hurley
Will Sullivan, Harbor Master
Members of the Parking Task Force II