Community Preservation Committee Minutes of Wednesday, March 1, 2023 Virtual Meeting

Attending: Gary Sorkin, Chair; Michael Fisher, Rhonda Fowler, Bruce Hurter, Jim McAuliffe, Elaine McIlroy, David Mead-Fox, Janis Plaue, Geraldine Ramer

Chair Gary Sorkin called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and welcomed Bruce Hurter, the new representative from the Open Space Committee.

Minutes of 12/7/2022

Janis Plaue moved to approve the amended minutes of December 7, 2022. David Mead-Fox seconded, and the motion carried 9-0.

Approval of Coalition Dues

Rhonda Fowler moved to approve payment of \$2,875 for annual membership dues to the Community Preservation Coalition. Michael Fisher seconded, and the motion carried 9-0.

Recommendation of Warrant Articles

Article 25 Administrative Expenses, Debt Service and Reserves

Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 24 for Administrative Expenses, Debt Service and Allocation of Reserves. Elaine McIlroy seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Jan Plaue – *Aye*, Bruce Hurter – *Aye*, Rhonda Fowler – *Aye*, David Mead-Fox – *Aye*, James McAuliffe – *Aye*, Elaine McIlroy – *Aye*, Michael Fisher – *Aye*, Geraldine Ramer – *Aye*, and Gary Sorkin – *Aye*. The motion carried 9-0.

Article 26-95 Lawrence Road

Rhonda Fowler moved to recommend Article 25 for \$1,000,000 towards the construction of community housing at 95 Lawrence Rd. Janis Plaue seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Rhonda Fowler – *Aye*, Janis Plaue – *Aye*, David Mead-Fox – *Aye*, Bruce Hurter – *Aye*, James McAuliffe – *Aye*, Michael Fisher – *Aye*, Geraldine Ramer – *Aye*, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – *Aye*. The motion carried 9-0.

Article 27 - Down Payment and Assistance Program

Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 26 for \$100,000 for the Wellfleet Housing Authority's Down Payment and Assistance Program. Michael Fisher seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – Aye, Bruce Hurter – Aye, Rhonda Fowler – Aye, David Mead-Fox – Aye, James McAuliffe – Aye, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, Michael Fisher – Aye, Geraldine Ramer – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – Aye. The motion carried 9-0.

Article 28 - Orleans Community Housing at 19 West Rd.

Elaine McIlroy moved to recommend Article 27 for \$20,000 as a regional contribution to Pennrose, LLC for community housing at 19 West Rd., Orleans. David Mead-Fox seconded, and a roll call vote was taken: Michael Fisher – *Aye*, Janis Plaue – *Aye*, Bruce Hurter – *Aye*, Rhonda Fowler – *Aye*, David Mead-Fox – *Aye*, James McAuliffe – *Aye*, Elaine McIlroy – *Aye*, Geraldine Ramer – *Aye*, and Gary Sorkin – *Aye*. The motion carried 9-0.

Article 29 - Lower Cape Housing Institute

Janis Plaue moved to recommend \$7,500 for the Lower Cape Housing Institute presented by the Community Development Partnership. Bruce Hurter seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – *Aye*, David Mead-Fox – *Aye*, Michael Fisher – *Aye*, Bruce Hurter – *Aye*, Rhonda Fowler – *Aye*, James McAuliffe – *Aye*, Elaine McIlroy – *Aye*, Geraldine Ramer – *Aye*, and Gary Sorkin – *Aye*. The motion carried 9-0.

Article 30 - Accessibility to Pond and Bay Beaches

Michael Fisher suggested that the Conservation Commission should be included in those making recommendations for Article 30.

Rhonda Fowler moved to recommend Article 29 for \$32,760 for mobility mats and the installation of a sunscreen at Mayo Beach. David Mead-Fox seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – Aye, Rhonda Fowler – Aye, Geraldine Ramer – Aye, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, Bruce Hurter – Aye, David Mead-Fox – Aye, James McAuliffe – Aye, Michael Fisher – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – Aye. The motion carried 9-0

Article 31 - Adult Community Center Landscaping

Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 30 for \$9,890 to the Friends of the Adult Community Center for landscaping improvements. Geraldine Ramer seconded. A roll call vote was taken: David Mead-Fox – Aye, Michael Fisher – Aye, Bruce Hurter – Aye, James McAuliffe – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – Aye, Janis Plaue – Aye, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, Geraldine Ramer – Aye, Rhonda Fowler – Aye. The motion carried 9-0

Article 32 Bandstand Pavilion

Some of the language describing the pavilion as a "cover" was replaced, and the Conservation Commission's acceptance of the structure was noted.

Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 30 for \$63,843 to install a pavilion cover over the bandstand at the marina. Rhonda Fowler seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – *Aye*, David Mead-Fox – *Aye*, Elaine McIlroy – *Aye*, Bruce Hurter – *Aye*, Rhonda Fowler – *Aye*, James McAuliffe – *Aye*, Michael Fisher – *Aye*, Geraldine Ramer – *Aye*, and Gary Sorkin – *Aye*. The motion carried 9-0

Article 33 Historic Preservation Reserve Amount Correction

Town Counsel had suggested that the correction in the Historic Preservation Reserve amount might be done through the Accounting Department, but CPC voted on Article 33

in case it is needed. Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 32 to correct the amount of money in the Historic Preservation Reserve. David Mead-Fox seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – Aye, David Mead-Fox – Aye, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, Bruce Hurter – Aye, Rhonda Fowler – Aye, James McAuliffe – Aye, Michael Fisher – Aye, Geraldine Ramer – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – Aye. The motion carried 9-0

Article 34 Establishment of Open Space Fund

Technically, Article 34 is not a Community Preservation Article, but it needs to be presented before the next Article for a contribution to an Open Space fund. Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 33 for the establishment of an Open Space Fund. David Mead-Fox seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – Aye, David Mead-Fox – Aye, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, Bruce Hurter – Aye, Rhonda Fowler – Aye, James McAuliffe – Aye, Michael Fisher – Aye, Geraldine Ramer – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – Aye. The motion carried 9-0

Article 35 Open Space Fund Contribution

Elaine McIlroy moved to recommend Article 35 for a contribution of \$150,000 to the Open Space Fund. Janis Plaue seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – Aye, David Mead-Fox – Aye, Elaine McIlroy – Aye, Bruce Hurter – Aye, Rhonda Fowler – Aye, James McAuliffe – Aye, Michael Fisher – Aye, Geraldine Ramer – Aye, and Gary Sorkin – Aye. The motion carried 9-0

CPC Coordinator's Position Article 17 – Housing/CPC Specialist

Article 17 for a combined Housing and Community Preservation specialist would create a full time position to serve the community housing needs and provide CPC with a replacement for the current Community Preservation Coordinator. If the Article does not pass. CPC will still need someone to work for them.

Janis Plaue moved to recommend Article 17 for a Housing/CPC Specialist David Mead-Fox seconded. A roll call vote was taken: Janis Plaue – *Aye*, David Mead-Fox – *Aye*, Elaine McIlroy – *Aye*, Bruce Hurter – *Aye*, Rhonda Fowler – *Aye*, James McAuliffe – *Aye*, Michael Fisher – *Aye*, Geraldine Ramer – *Aye*, and Gary Sorkin – *Aye*. The motion carried 9-0

CPC Finances

Gary Sorkin reported on a meeting he, Mary Rogers, Town Treasurer Cameron Scott, and Town Administrator Richard Waldo had on February 28, 2023. The Town has hired a new accounting firm that is establishing better communication lines about use of the CPA bank account that is in the care of the Town Treasurer.

Next Meeting

The next CPC meeting was planned for Wednesday, April 12, 2023 at 9 a.m. This will be held via Zoom if possible. A meeting after the Annual Town Meeting was set for Wednesday, May 24 at 9 a.m.

Adjournment

Janis Plaue moved to adjourn. David Mead-Fox seconded, and the motion carried 9-0. The meeting was adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Rogers, CPC Coordinator